Featured Posts

Life cycle of a Bug in any software.

Life cycle of a Bug in any software :
                                                               In software development process the bug has a life cycle.  The bug should go through the life cycle to be closed.  A specific life cycle ensures that the process is standardized.  The bug attains different states in the life cycle.
The different states of a bug can be summarized as :
  1. New
  2. Open
  3. Assign
  4. Test
  5. Verified
  6. Deferred
  7. Reopened
  8. Duplicate
  9. Rejected
  10. Closed.

  • New :  When the bug is posted for the first time its state will be - New.  This means that bug is not yet appeared.
  • Open :  After a tester has posted a bug, the lead of the tester approves that the bug is genuine and he changes the state as - Open.
  • Assign :  Once the lead changes the state as open, he assigns the bug to corresponding developer or developer team.  The state of the bug now is changed to - Assign.
  • Test :  Once the developer fixes the bug, he has to assign the to the testing team for next round for testing.  Before he releases the software with bug fixed, he changes the state of bug to -Test.  It specifies that the bug has been fixed and is released to testing team.
  • Defined :  The bug changed to deferred state means the bug is expected to be in the next releases.  The reasons for changing the bug to this state have many factors some of them are priority of the bug may be low, lack of time for the release or the bug may not have major effect on the software.
  • Rejected :   If the developer feels that the bug is not genuine, he rejects the bug.  Then the state of the bug is changed to - Rejected.
  • Duplicate :  If the bug is repeated twice or the two bugs mention the same concept or the bug, then one bug status is changed to - Duplicate.
  • Verified :  Once the bug is fixed and the status is changed to - Test, the tester tests the bug.  If the bug is not present in the software he approves that the bug is fixed and changes the status to - verified.
  • Reopened :  If the bug still exists even the bug is fixed by the developer, the tester changes the status to- Reopened.  The bug traverses the life cycle once again.
  • Closed :  Once the bug is fixed, it is tested by the tester.  If the tester feels that the bug no longer exists in the software he changes the status of the bug to Closed.  This state means that the bug is fixed, tested and approved.

Post a Comment


www.posthatke.com. Powered by Blogger.
Copyright © www.posthatke.com | Blogger Templates | Designed By posthatke.com